top of page
St.Joseph-Calgary-Parish-inside.jpg

About Us

Our parish was “canonically erected” on Nov. 25, 1912 by Bishop Emil Legal of the Diocese of St. Albert (which included both Edmonton and Calgary). It was named St. Benedict’s Parish and was comprised of almost all of Calgary north of the Bow River. The first priests to serve in the parish were Benedictine monks from Ampleforth Abbey in England. They celebrated Mass in a small wooden church which they rented from the Ukrainian Bishop in Edmonton. Soon Calgary was made a separate diocese from Edmonton, and the first Bishop, John T. McNally, arrived on July 27, 1913. He gave the parish a new name – St. Joseph’s – and planning began for construction of a church. The cornerstone of St. Joseph Church was laid on Sept. 6, 1914.

 

In 2012, our church community celebrated 100 years of parish life, and a steering committee was appointed to oversee the development of four projects: a Centennial Prayer Garden; a statue of St. Joseph and Jesus; installation of doors into the Garden; and a Wall of Service to recognize the many priests who have served in our parish. Students of St. Joseph School put together a time capsule, which was buried near the statue, and a large tapestry was created by a parishioner, which included materials more than 100 years old. As well, a public “Open House” weekend took place, and a history of the parish, entitled A Lamp on the Hill: St. Joseph’s Parish, 1912-2012, was presented to parishioners at a 100th Anniversary banquet.

 

 

Today St. Joseph’s Parish is an active community, rich in cultural diversity. The church proudly stands as a beacon of faith on Calgary’s north hill, in the neighbourhood of Mt. Pleasant.

bottom of page